Portia’s Julius Caesar

Portia’s Julius Caesar

By Kaitlyn Riordan
Inspired by and adapted from the works of William Shakespeare
Directed by Eva Barrie*
Starring Amaka Umeh* as Portia

Nov. 15 – 30, 2019

Named one of the top shows of 2018 by the Toronto Star after its summer premiere, Portia’s Julius Caesar is an unapologetically feminist take on Shakespeare’s classic account of political upheaval. Through the eyes of a Roman wife, Portia’s Julius Caesar uses a mix of new words and the rich poetry from over 20 of Shakespeare’s works to explore the role of women in classic story-telling, ancient Roman society and politics.

Approximate Running Time: 2 hours with additional time for an intermission

WARNING: Violent content

 
* The participation of this artist is arranged by permission of Canadian Actors’ Equity Association under the provisions of the Dance/Opera/Theatre Policy (DOT).


Performance Schedule

Week 1: Fri. and Sat. at 8 pm
Week 2: Wed. to Sat. at 8 pm
Week 3: Wed. to Sat. at 8 pm and Sat. at 2 pm

Postshow Talkbacks: Sat., Nov. 16 and Thurs., Nov. 21
Remain in your seat after the show for a curated chat with the actors and artists.

Preshow Artist Chat: Sat., Nov. 30 at 1 pm
Come to the matinee early to enjoy an in-depth discussion with one of the artists from the show. Admission included in ticket purchase.

top


Tickets

Adults: $28 / Seniors: $20 / Students: $15

$12 Student tickets every Wednesday evening

Fri., Nov. 15, 2019 at 8 pm
Sat., Nov. 16, 2019 at 8 pm

Wed., Nov. 20, 2019 at 8 pm
Thurs., Nov. 21, 2019 at 8 pm
Fri., Nov. 22, 2019 at 8 pm
Sat., Nov. 23, 2019 at 8 pm

Wed., Nov. 27, 2019 at 8 pm
Thurs., Nov. 28, 2019 at 8 pm
Fri., Nov. 29, 2019 at 8 pm
Sat., Nov. 30, 2019 at 2 pm
Sat., Nov. 30, 2019 at 8 pm

Online Purchase: Click on preferred date listed above
Telephone Sales: Call 416.978.2452
In Person Sales: Hart House HUB Main Information Desk, or the theatre’s ticket window prior to curtain

top


Student Matinees

Hart House Theatre offers student matinees at the low price of $15 per student, and complementary tickets for teachers and chaperones.

Scheduled performances: Tues., Nov. 19 and Tues., Nov. 26 at 12 noon

Please note: more performances may be added or rescheduled according to demand.

For more information and to book a performance please call the Box Office at 416.978.2452.

top