Hart House Student Leaders

Mara, Modele and Bukama, Hart House Ambassadors

Mara, Modele and Bukama, Hart House Ambassadors

Student Leaders

Every spring, Hart House holds a reception at the Gallery Grill to celebrate our student leaders, who act as Ambassadors for the House, lead our clubs and committees and volunteer their time and their talents to help us deliver programs and activities that are relevant to today’s students. We also celebrate the many alumni mentors who share their knowledge and experience with students and give of their time.

On March 20, 2018, we had the honor of introducing the very first nominees for the annual Audrey Hozack Award, a tribute to Audrey Hozack, a legendary 39-year employee and Assistant Warden of Hart House who passed away on February 2016. Through the generosity of a group of donors, each year one outstanding student leader will receive a cash award of $1,000. Finalists receive $100 prizes. This year, the nominees were Angela Gu, Literary & Library Committee; Sarah Edo, Global Commons and Social Justice Committee; Coco Lee, Theatre Committee, U of T Drama Coalition and Hart House Committee on Budgets; Edie Guo, Farm Committee; and Bukama Muntu, Hancock Lecture Committee. The award went to Coco Lee.L

“My time at U of T has been profoundly enriched by the leadership opportunities I had at Hart House, and my hope is to champion similar opportunities for fellow students.” —Coco Lee

Mara and Izzy, Creative Program Assistants

Laticia and Izzy, Creative Program Assistants

Student Achievements

Two other awards were also announced at the reception. The Student Engagement in the Arts Awards recognizes students who have made significant leadership or volunteer contributions to co-curricular activities at the University. Hart House proudly announced three winners of the award: Samantha Holmes and James Hyett for their involvement with Hart House Theatre, and Theresa Wang for her work with the Art Museum.

The Gordon Cressy Student Leadership Awards are another university-wide acknowledgement of outstanding contributions made by graduating students. This year, Hart House put forward six students who worked towards improving the world around them and inspired others to do the same. They are Andrea Dimiskovska, Hart House Global Commons Committee; Tonny Huang, Hart House Chorus; Sophia Ludwig, Hart House Finance Committee; Sarah Millman, Debates & Dialogue Committee and Debating Club; Theresa Wang, Art Committee; and Katie Harris, Hart House Symphonic Band.

Congratulations to all!

This entry was posted in Quarterly Articles. Bookmark the permalink.